Winter Blues …

IMG_2758

 

… purples, pinks, whites and especially greens. In fact, most any colour you can think of.

While those of you in cooler climes enjoy the brilliant colouring of leaves to mark the change of  seasons, my garden continues to produce riotous colour in flowers and foliage year round.

Winter is a subtler visitor in the sub tropics; colour still abounds but growth slows, deciduous plants like my gingers die off, to gather strength for the spring.

I feel this shift too. Recent wet weather and chilly mornings, set off my nesting instincts. No, I’m not thinking in terms of egg-laying, more a case of hunkering down for a rest. I can feel the sap slowing in my veins. Perhaps, I have a case of winter blues?

That’s why I will take a break from posting for a couple of weeks; to rest and renew, to refill my creativity well.

 

Like water, we are truest to our nature in repose.

Cyril Connolly

 

In the depth of winter I finally learned that there was in me an invincible summer. Albert Camus

 

 

 

l

l

l

21 responses to “Winter Blues …

  1. Exactly! Why would you want to remove evidence of having lived your life in all its shades of joy and sorrow. It’s called character in men and ageing in woman. Recently our Foreign Affairs minister, Julie Bishop, was asked to comment on what Trump said about the French President’s wife about being ‘in such good physical shape – beautiful.’ Julie, herself a runner and fitness advocate, cracked everybody up by replying: ‘I wonder if she could say the same of him.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

