Persian Apples and Lots A Lemons

IMG_2261

The little tree that keeps on giving

When I was a little girl, everyone had a lemon tree in their garden. Some might say,  dinosaurs roamed the earth back then.  Well, while dinosaurs may be extinct, I would be very sad if the days of the backyard lemon tree went the same way.

The thing is, people are busier, house blocks have become smaller and houses have grown in size, leaving little room or inclination for the lemon tree, not to mention the ubiquitous vegetable garden, fruit trees and chooks (chickens). After all, what are supermarkets for?

We were children of the post war era. Our parents and grandparents had been through wars and the Great Depression. They were from resilient stock whose frugal ways ensured pantries stocked with home grown produce and preserves, and you guessed it, lemons. Mmmm, just think: lemon butter, lemon meringue pie, home-made lemonade.

IMG_2271

Some of the fruit from my dwarf lemon tree

So what about the lemon tree?

I’m happy to report I have one! Yes, even in my little courtyard there is room for lemons to flourish. But it’s not the kind I’ve had in the past. There isn’t enough room for that. This lemon tree is a dwarf form of the Meyer Lemon, specially developed for small spaces. Called Lots A Lemons, it has sweetly-scented blossom and a steady supply of full-size, juicy, smooth-skinned fruit all year – perfect for pots and a tiny courtyard.

After a little research I discovered the lemon has an interesting and long history:

The lemon (Citrus x limon) is a fruit tree that belongs to the genus Citrus, Rutaceae family, to which belong also citrus fruit, such as oranges, tangerine, bergamots, citrons, grapefruit.
The common name “lemon” can refer both to the plant and to its fruit: it is an ancient hybrid, native to India and Indochina, typical of warm regions, halfway between the pomelo and the citron, but for centuries, an independent species which spreads through scions and grafts.
The lemon is native to India and Indochina: it was first described in Roman times since I century in some paintings from Pompeii, even though it seems that the first citrus fruit of the Roman world was citron, known among Romans as “Persian apple”. Another lemon’s description appears in some Indian wrights of the XII century: the word limun in Arab, refers to all citrus fruits. Therefore, it might be possible that in ancient times the lemon and its properties were already known to the Arabs and called, together with the other citrus fruits, limun .
The lemon arrived in Europe in 1200 b.C.: its first cultivation is known in Sicily (Italy); later in Genova (Italy) and in 1494 in the Azores (Portugal). (ref).

Little wonder the lemon has become so ubiquitous and been so highly valued; enough to take pride of place in the Australian backyard over the decades.

Its versatility for use as a food, in medicine and pharmacology, in the perfume, cleaning and liqueur industries, has ensured its place as a ‘king of fruits’. Claims have been made for the lemon’s therapeutic properties down through the generations.

Does anyone remember the warm lemon juice and honey remedy for sore throats? It was a highlight for me as a child and almost worth the pain of being sick. Oh, and what about the faces we could pull when sucking on a lemon!

 

“When life hands you lemonade, don’t try to make lemons”
Vince Guthrie

l

l

l

l

24 responses to “Persian Apples and Lots A Lemons

  1. I still swear by lemon juice and honey (mixed together in warm water) as a good treatment for colds and flu. Along with onion soup.

    Lemons are still fairly popular in NZ gardens – if people are going to have a fruit tree, that often seems to be the one.

    Like

    • I’m warmed by the thought of the lemon and honey tradition persisting, Denise. Glad to hear lemon trees are still valued in NZ backyards too. I do hope Cyclone Cook is not wreaking too much damage in your (national) backyard. Stay safe.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 😏 I’ve followed you as your page is very inspiring.  I hope you do the same, as you may find mine the same, I practice naked cooking like jamie oliver, I’m conducting the half-blood princess project.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Peter, Paul, and Mary got the first part of this refrain right: “Lemon tree, very pretty, and the lemon flower is sweet ,” but gave the song a bad taste in the next line, didn’t they. Now, about Vince. Clever guy. Is he a friend or something? I can’t find anything else he said.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s right Albert! I remember and love that song. I don’t agree that the lemon is impossible to eat though. They’ve obviously not tasted the lemon in all its different guises. I had a friend who even enjoyed sucking on a raw lemon. I think the hybrid varieties are less bitter. As for Vince Guthrie, I found his quote on Goodreads. I couldn’t find any other reference to him. I just liked the way he turned around that old saying about when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. I felt his version expressed the need to be grateful for what we have rather than seeing a downside to every blessing. Thanks for visiting.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Here in the UK, I guess the apple tree is about as usual as the lemon tree is, there. So the Brits have loads of apple pies, stewed apple (not my thing, that!), apple crumble, apple juice and of course… cider. 🙂 I love the idea of lemon trees (though I can’t eat lemons, an intolerance or something) and my remaining uncle who lives in East Australia has them outside his house, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Apple cider – what a treat! My sister lives in southern New South Wales She has very old cider apple trees as well as earring apples. There’s nothing quite like an apple straight from the tree. Are you an Aussie originally Val? You said your uncle still lives here.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh honey and lemon, can’t beat it when sick. I had some not too long ago when I had a bout of bronchitis complete with a sore throat. Reminded me of when I was young and my grandma would mix honey and lemon for me whenever I got sick.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

