Morning Musings

 

img_1496

Gaura or Butterfly Bush blossoms fluttering in the breeze

There’s a hush in my early morning garden, hot and oppressive even before the sun appears. I stand here in my pyjamas wilting with perspiration.

In the space of a breath that expels as a sigh, I’m aware of my presence in the moment. I sense something else: an aliveness, a sentience?

My garden has presence, a kind of aura that commands my attention. I can almost feel a heartbeat. Over the years I’ve read some interesting premises that promote the notion of plant sentience and connection. While some of the claims seem far fetched, I feel they contain a kernel of truth despite the lack of rigorous research to support them.

Like me, my garden has many moods. With each passing week, I delight in the new developments; a constant cycling of new growth, of new blooming, while spent flowers and plants decay and shrivel back to the earth. A microcosm, largely unseen by a passing eye, is at work in the soil beneath my feet, among the leaves and in the branches above me. Affected by the seasons, the weather, even affected by me as I plan, plant and nurture,  my garden presents another mood, a new face every day. Today’s face is closed. The garden is hunkered down. Leaves curl inward, preserving moisture.

 

img_1489

A bee at work in the magnolia ‘Little Gem’.

This day is shaping up to be another scorcher. My  mood lies heavy as a blanket; there’ll be no gardening for me today. The heat stifles my creativity and irritability is beginning to bloom. Like my garden, my moods are subject to the seasons and the weather.

Thankfully, they too will pass.

What dreadful hot weather we have! It keeps me in a continual state of inelegance.
~Jane Austen~
Useful resources:
26 responses to “Morning Musings

  1. Yesterday was hot enough to bring me to a state of inelegance as I trotted home with some groceries. But today? While not cold, it’s wet and windy. Summer seems to be passing us by. And I dare not do anything around my yard, despite unkind comments from my brother about how overgrown it is. This spring and summer have been particularly hay-feverish. But as you say, it will pass.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Too hot, too cold, too wet, too windy – ahh we gardeners are never happy. I stand and stare outwards from my cold conservatory and visualise the changes I would like to make. Then write lists of plants to buy which frustratingly is far too long for the space I have…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. We,too had an “inelegant” inducing, hot humid summer here in New England. And when I finally put my poor, untended gardens to bed in the cool autumn, I promised I would treat them better come springtime. Charley and I did manage to plant some hyacinth and tulip bulbs in early December just before the ground froze. I look forward to seeing them through the front window in a few months time. Stay cool, Robyn

    Liked by 2 people

    • I just love hyacinths, especially the blue grape ones. I’ve never been able to grow tulips, even when I lived in the right climate. I’m told if the bulbs are stored in the crisper section of the refrigerator before planting out, they’ll flower well even in a warm climate. What a lovely surprise you have in store Clare.
      I’ve spoken severely to the weather gods although it doesn’t seem to have made a difference. The humidity is 95% making the 29C temperature seem much hotter. It hardly dropped over night which makes it hard to bear. I do sound grumpy don’t I? I’ll read the news and induce a little gratitude into my morning.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not the news! Anything but the news! Well, we have fallen deeper into the “it can’t get any worse abyss” here in the USA. I suggest you find a lovely novel, a cozy mystery or Bill Bryson’s latest. But, save yourself, Robyn – stay away from the news!

        Liked by 2 people

      • I’m glad I can lighten your day Clare. I see growing discomfort in the US. I read the celebrities are opting out of performing at any of his functions. They are such a powerful social force. People tend to take notice of what they choose to endorse or not. Crazy isn’t it. Those more informed do not seem to have that kind of sway on the wider populace. I think the world is watching with growing dismay because his actions impact on all of us. Sit tight my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree Robyn. The heat at this time of year tends to sap creativity energy. Speaking with another writer recently, she agreed. I think also the summer holiday season adds to the feeling that everyone’s at the beach and so being productive is more challenging. Being dormant is simply preparing for another bloom 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

