Great Expectations

Pink cymbidium orchid

Pink cymbidium orchid

Just days ago I was so excited to see three spikes on a pink cymbidium orchid. Today the spikes remain, but sadly with fewer buds. What’s going on?

I fear I have become a slave to my expectations. The promise of something wonderful isn’t always fulfilled. This is never more true than in the garden, but also, in life. How often do we look forward to something only to be disappointed by the reality? Things have a way of not turning out as one expects them to. But this doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

I researched the bud-drop problem which it appears, can be brought on by a sudden change in environment like temperature fluctuation. This is entirely possible because we are experiencing a bout of chilly nights here in our sub-tropical climate of the Gold Coast.

The Noosa Orchid Society says:                                                                                                                                        There are many reasons why buds fall off before flowering: Under or over watering. Temperature extremes and rapid temperature changes (heating vents, air conditioning blowing directly on the plant). Fumes from natural gas leaks, paint, other chemicals. Ethylene – high producers are apple, avocado, peach, pear, plum, melons, figs, and tomatoes. Low humidity. Genetics. Aphids, thrips and some mites. Changing growing location. If you want to change a plant’s location so that it will be enjoyed, wait until the flower opens first.

So, what to do?

There are a few buds still clinging to the spikes so I will try to rescue them by bringing the pot undercover tonight. With luck, I will still have some blooms to enjoy. But if not, then I will appreciate the less showy, but equally wonderful, strappy green leaves.

The thing is, I can choose to be disappointed, or, I can marvel at the un-expected, which often exceeds the original, great expectations held.

If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.

Dr Wayne Dyer

Pink Cymbidium Orchid

Pink Cymbidium Orchid

10 responses to “Great Expectations

  1. I have trouble keeping simple potted plants, so I can’t imagine an orchid. I hope it works out. Your pictures are gorgeous by the way.

    Like

  2. This is quite an old post, so I hope you sorted out the orchid bud drop problem. The main reason I wanted to comment was just to say “I fear I have become a slave to my expectations” is a nice line. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

