My Audience

Who is my audience?

People who like to garden in small spaces; who see connections between nature and the human experience; who believe in the ‘Web of Life’? People who enjoy reading different points of view and sharing their knowledge? Perennial readers and writers in all their verdure ? I write for all of the above.

I think talking about ‘being in nature’ is a bit of a furphy. As biological beings we are inherently ‘in nature’. Perhaps more specifically, we are an intrinsic part of nature. For this reason,  mindful observations of the life systems around us reveals wonderful stories and gives insight into who we are and how we might best live our lives.

I thought about this when I visited my worm colony today. The worm house is a simple multi-tiered barrel I purchased from Bunnings years ago.  I put kitchen scraps in the top and ‘worm juice’ comes out the bottom through a tap. Periodically, I rearrange the trays and harvest the worm castings.

Worms are social creatures. Like us, they need and collaborate with other living organisms for survival. How well they do this determines whether they merely survive or whether they flourish. When I first began to ‘farm’ my redworms I was struck by how essential that collaboration is. I make sure they are housed and fed and they recycle my organic kitchen waste which fertilises my garden. It’s beneficial to us both – what Stephen Covey would call a win/win situation. As long as we each keep our part of the bargain.

Humankind has not woven the web of life. We are but one thread within it. Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves. All things are bound together. All things connect.

Chief Seattle

2015 July my worm colony

8 responses to “My Audience

    • Hello Diane, thanks for your offer, I really appreciate your kindness. As I’m sure you have guessed, I’m still finding my way. In the meantime I will try to research the solution myself.
      Robyn

      Like

    • I can intuit by some miraculous spider sense that you are not a gardener. I forgive you!

      Worms are cool but maybe that’s an acquired taste (poor choice of words there. No. I don’t imbibe!).

      Thanks for visiting my garden!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

